The Bloody Nine

Posted on Posted in Podcast

This is the story of Niall of the Nine hostages, arguably the greatest ever Ulsterman. Empire builder, warlord, hero, villain and one of the most fecund men in history, yet you may never have heard of him. Listen to his tale here.

 

 

Show notes:

A vast chunk of the information comes from three old texts –

mac nEchach Muigmedón —  The Adventures of the Sons of Eochaid Mugmedon

Lebor Gabála Érenn  — The Book of Invasions

Aided Néill Nóigiallaig — The Death of Niall of the Nine Hostages

 

00:20 Dr Dre – next episode – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Next_Episode  — still waiting for my remix

01:00 – Bloody Sunday – www.bbc.co.uk/history/bloody_sunday

01:00 – Bloody Friday – www.bbc.co.uk/history/events/bloody_friday_belfast

First law trilogy — written by Joe Abercrombie, really couldn’t recommend the books high enough  — https://www.joeabercrombie.com/

George best — www.georgebest.com/

Rory McIlroy — www.rorymcilroy.com/

Peter Canavan — www.the42.ie/peter-canavan/news

David Healy — www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/25190183

Joey Dunlop — www.joeydunlop.co.uk/

Liam Neeson — https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Liam_Neeson

Seamus Heaney  — https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poets/seamus-heaney

Ian paisley — www.bbc.co.uk/history/people/ian_paisley/

Martin McGuinness  — https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Martin_McGuinness

Billy mcfadzean  — http://www.victoriacrossonline.co.uk/william-f-billy-mcfadzean-vc/4587587881

Coohulain – hound of ulster  — https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cú_Chulainn

The little acoustic joiner is by Bensound –  http://www.bensound.com/royalty-free-music

William Wallace  — https://www.nationalwallacemonument.com/sir-william-wallace/

Alexander the Great  — https://www.biography.com/people/alexander-the-great-9180468

Odysseus  — https://www.greekmythology.com/Myths/Heroes/Odysseus/odysseus.html

Others feel the same about Jack Reacher  — https://www.thrillist.com/entertainment/nation/tom-cruise-jack-reacher-short

4:48 — Jack Reacher imdb – www.imdb.com/title/tt0790724/

Maverick in Topgun  — http://www.imdb.com/character/ch0005702/

mac nEchach Muigmedón —  The Adventures of the Sons of Eochaid Mugmedon

13:00 ish – an homage to the fresh prince theme song — https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AVbQo3IOC_A

13:43 – dal riata — https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/D%C3%A1l_Riata  — but no mention of Niall

Braveheart – www.imdb.com/title/tt0112573/

15:00 Scotia — https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scotia

15:30 Hadrians wall – www.hadrianswallcountry.co.uk

16:33  – www.bbc.co.uk/history/historic_figures/patrick_st.shtml

18:30 – Terry Waite, a hostage in Beirut – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Terry_Waite

19 ish — Game of Thrones Locations in Ulster – https://discovernorthernireland.com/blog/northern-ireland-game-of-thrones-territory/

20:20 — The Death of Niall of the Nine Hostages

23:45 — Genetics of Niall — https://www.irishtimes.com/news/science/the-genetic-imprint-of-niall-of-the-nine-hostages-1.1771373

24:45  — Flight of the Earls — http://www.historytoday.com/richard-cavendish/flight-earls

26:10 — Details of the documentary ‘Blood of the Irish’ – www.rte.ie/tv/bloodoftheirish/

End tune — The O’Neills March — https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jtOjce6AVf4 — by Sean O Riada  — Just imagine getting prepped for battle with those drums and that whistle kicking in, at least I think it’s a whistle.  Its supposedly for one of the latter O’Neills such as Owen Roe or Hugh, but it just sounds so good.  Unfortunately I can only play about 30 seconds or else there may be some copyright trouble, but please click the link and go check out the tune.  Also if so inclined the plethora of comments make for interesting reading

Leave a Reply