How Do You Do, Young Jamesie Agnew

Posted on Posted in Podcast

So me and my da went to Belgium to check out the battles and beer. Focusing on the town of Ypres, and the fate of the two James Agnew in particular, and the occurrence of a mad coincidence that still blows my mind.

Show Notes

1:14 — shambalah in salou — https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RzhAMvLCEno
1:29 — tonight we dine in hell — https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xRrrfSIgfKI
2:26 — somme centre, conlig — https://www.nimc.co.uk/find-a-museum/museum/profile/somme-heritage-centre/
3:32 — torrential downpour in passchedale  — https://www.awm.gov.au/articles/blog/rain-mud-the-ypres-passchendaele-offensive
4:38 — Ieper town  — https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ypres
6:00 — Old Trafford prawn sandwich brigade  — https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Prawn_sandwich_brigade
6:50 — resident evil and last of us  — http://residentevil.wikia.com/wiki/Resident_Evil_Wiki —  http://thelastofus.wikia.com/wiki/The_Last_of_Us
7:56 — Blackadder  — https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blackadder
8:35 — Field Marshall Haig  — https://www.warhistoryonline.com/war-articles/douglas-haig-butcher-or-hero-by-rupert-colley.html
8:45 — Reparations from Germany  — http://content.time.com/time/world/article/0,8599,2023140,00.html
9:05 — In Flander Fields museum  — http://www.inflandersfields.be/en
9:58 — Ghostbusters — climbing the stairs  — https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q13lJw_pTVA
12:05 — World War One War propaganda — https://www.bl.uk/world-war-one/themes/propaganda
12:45 — Ian Alderman – Recovering the Past  — https://recoveringthepast.com/
13:00 — Frank Hurley   — http://www.realclearlife.com/history/world-war-one-photos-frank-hurley/#1
13:57 — Hoegaarden — http://hoegaarden.com/
13:57 — leffe blond — http://www.leffe.com/en/beers/leffe-blond
13:57 — Cottiers Bar Glasgow — http://www.cottiers.com/the-bar/
14:29 — da pondfarm  — http://www.depondfarm.be/en/introduction
16:01 — Wolseys in Bangor  — http://wolseys.com/
17:18 — Mark IV Tank  — http://www.tanks-encyclopedia.com/ww1/gb/tank_MkIV.php
20:04 — actually Charles Sidney ward fought for the Cambridgeshire’s not the Glosters… my bad
22:00 — Menin Gate and the Last Post  — http://www.lastpost.be/en/home
23:50 — Dubbel beer  — https://www.beeradvocate.com/beer/style/57/
26:50 — Pauls Boutique  — https://www.paulsboutique.be/
27:00 — Old Bill Pub  — https://www.facebook.com/OldBillPub/
28:00 — Pyrrhic victory  — http://www.phrases.org.uk/meanings/297150.html
28:38 — John Keegan  — http://www.independent.co.uk/news/obituaries/john-keegan-historian-hailed-as-the-foremost-authority-of-his-generation-on-warfare-8010037.html
29:36 — Tyne Cot Memorial  — http://www.cwgc.org/find-a-cemetery/cemetery/85900/TYNE%20COT%20MEMORIAL
37:15 — Video of finding the wreath  — https://youtu.be/xPfJuiyK6JI
39:30 — With God on our Side by Bob Dylan — https://bobdylan.com/songs/god-our-side/
40:20 — video of last post – https://youtu.be/wpy91L4ZOYI

Leave a Reply